February 15, 2011

Thanks to Karen Misuraca for forwarding this information:

It’s that time of year to submit your best tourism-oriented stories and photos published on Canada in 2010. The 14th annual Northern Lights Awards for Excellence in Travel Journalism and Photography is open to magazines, newspapers, independent writers, photographers and Internet reporters in North America, published in either French or English outlets. Entries for the competition must be postmarked by February 15, 2011. The complete rules and entry form are available online.

All winners in the newspaper, magazine, internet and photography categories will be presented with cool gear, for an authentic sub-Arctic experience provided by Travel Manitoba. Prizes for first, second and third place winners in both an independent writers (newspapers) category and independent writers (magazines) category will be USD $750, $500 and $350 respectively.
Awards will be judged by the Missouri School of Journalism and presented by the Canadian Tourism Commission on April 5, 2011 during Canada Media Marketplace in New York, New York. The annual awards program is a Canadian Tourism Commission initiative.

Questions? Please contact:

Susan Baumgartner
Northern Lights Media Awards,
PMB 171, 208 East 51st Street,
New York, NY 10022.
Tel: 212-355-6025
e-mail: northernlights@canadamediamarket.org


Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind

  • Receive Travel Writers News updates via email

  • Upcoming Events

    February 2011
    M T W T F S S
  • Available in August, 2017

    I'm thrilled that it's getting rave reviews! Order your copy of Your Crocodile has Arrived from Book Passage, and I'll be happy to sign it.  
  • Winner of 4 Literary Awards in 2017

    Lost Kidnapped Eaten Alive!Order your copy of Lost, Kidnapped, Eaten Alive from Book Passage, and I'll be happy to sign it.
  • Get Occasional Updates

    You can also sign up for my personal Laurie McAndish King mailing list for occasional updates about readings and events.