September 21, 2013

solasThe deadline for this year’s Solas Awards for Best Travel Story of the Year is just a few days away. To enter this year’s competition, go to and follow the instructions. As of [September 13] , competition is light in the following categories:

Adventure Travel
Animal Encounter
Cruise Story
Doing Good or the Kindness of Strangers
Elder Travel
Love Story
Men’s Travel
Travel and Healing
Travel and Shopping
Travel and Sports
Young Traveler

All entries submitted by 11:59 p.m. PDT, September 21 will be eligible. Entries submitted after that time will be entered in next year’s competition.

The Solas Awards are an annual competition to find the best writing being done about the world today. The Travelers’ Tales editors will choose winners in 21 categories ranging from adventure to humor, from destination to memoir, and everything in between. The grand prize category has cash awards of $1,000, $750, and $500; all other category winners receive bragging rights, an award certificate and the right to buy all Travelers’ Tales books at 50 percent off. Plus, winners may be published in Travelers’ Tales books.


Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind

  • Receive Travel Writers News updates via email

  • Upcoming Events

    September 2013
    M T W T F S S
  • Available in August, 2017

    I'm thrilled that it's getting rave reviews! Order your copy of Your Crocodile has Arrived from Book Passage, and I'll be happy to sign it.  
  • Winner of 4 Literary Awards in 2017

    Lost Kidnapped Eaten Alive!Order your copy of Lost, Kidnapped, Eaten Alive from Book Passage, and I'll be happy to sign it.
  • Get Occasional Updates

    You can also sign up for my personal Laurie McAndish King mailing list for occasional updates about readings and events.